Monday, November 2, 2009

What are the Buddhism Rituals?

Buddhist like to meditate. Meditation helps develop mindfulness, concentration, tranquility and insight. Mindfulness is calm awareness of one's body functions, feelings, content of consciousness, or consciousness itself. Buddhist like to be calm and like to have peace.

Sunday, November 1, 2009

What is the Buddhist Hierarchy?

The Buddhist Hierarchy has Monks and Nuns. Monks and Nuns take their vows for a lifetime but they can "give them back" up to three times in one life. Its possible to keep them or to leave this lifestyle, but it is considered extremely negative to break these vows.

What did Buddha teach?

Buddha taught many things, one thing he taught was the Four Noble Truths. What is the Four Noble Truths?

The First Noble Truth:
The First Noble Truth tells that life includes pain and suffering. It says that in life we all so suffer from things like embarrassment, disappointment, anger, and loneliness. Buddha explains how suffering can be avoided and how we can be truly happy.

The Second Noble Truth:
The Second Truth is that suffering is caused by craving and aversion like, if we want others
to like us, or if we do not get something we want. A life time of wanting and craving and especially the
the craving to continue to exist, creates a powerful energy which causes the individual to be born.
So craving leads to physical suffering because it causes us to be reborn.

The Third Noble Truth:
The Third Noble Truth is that suffering can be overcome and happiness can be attained. If we
give up useless craving and learn to live each day at a time then we can become happy and free. We then
have more time and energy to help others.

The Forth Noble Truth:
The Forth Noble Truth is that the Noble 8-fold path is the path which leads to the end of suffering.

The Noble 8- fold Path:
The Noble 8-Fold Path is being moral , focusisng the mind on being fully aware of our thoughts and
our actions.

What is the Buddhist Holy Books/ Sacred Text?

What is the Buddhist Holy Books/ Sacred Text?
Buddhists Holy book/ Sacred Text is the Pali Canon. Pali Canon is the standard collection of scriptures in the Theavada Buddhist tradition. Theavad is the oldest surviving early Buddhist school. The Pali Canon is the only completely surving early Buddist canon, and one of the firsts to be written down. It was composed in North India, and preserved orally unitl it was committer to writting durign the Fourth Buddhist Council in Sri Lanka in the 1st centry BC, approximately three hundred years after the death of Buddha.

Friday, October 30, 2009

What do Buddhist wear?

If you are a traditional Buddhist you generally wear robes. The Sankrit and Pali word foe monastic robes is civara. Wearing a civara is the first of a monk's four traditonal reqiurments. Monks are never to enter a village without wearing all three parts of their robe:
- An inner robe, from the waist to the knee
- An upper robe around the torso and the shoulders
- An outer robe used as and overgarment

Buddhist also wear mala , a bracelet that has 108 beads. The 108 beads on the mala repersents the 108 human passions that Avalokiteshvara assured when telling the beads. They also have 3 extra beads on the mala to repersent the completion of a cycle of mantras. The 3 extra bead also symbolize the Three Jewels of Buddhism: the buddha, the dharma and the sangha. The hidden string that passed through all the beads symbolized the penetrating power of the Buddhas.
A mala is usally worn as bracelets but preist generally wear them as long necklaces.

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Buddhism Religious Holidays

Buddhist celebrate many holidays such as :
- Buddhist New Year -
The New Year is celebrated for three days on the first full moon in April.
- Vesak-
Is the birthday of Buddha. For Buddhist it is the most important holiday they celebrate. They celebrate the Vesak on the first full moon in may. They celebrate the birth and the death of buddha in the same day.
- Sangha Day-
Sangha Day is the second most important festival to Buddhist. Sanga Day is the celebration in honour of the Sangha or the Buddhist community. For some Buddhists Sangha refers only to monks and nuns It is a chance for people to reaffirm their commitment to Buddhist prctices and tradition.
- Dhamma Day-
Is celebrated on the first full moon day in July. It was when Buddha made his first sermon at Sarnath Deer Park
- Observance Day-
Observance Day is when each of the four traditional monthly holy days (the new moon, full moon, and quarter moon days) that continue to be observed in Theravada countries.
- Kathina Ceremony-
Kathina Ceremony is held on any conveniet date within one month of the conclusion of the three month rains retreat season. On this day the latity (non-monastics) offer new robe to the monks and to the nuns.
- Festival Of Floating Bowls-
The Festival Of Floating Bowls is held when the canals are full of water. It takes place in all parts of Thailand on the full moon night of the twelfth lunar month. People make bowls made of leaves they put candles and incense sticks and then put them in the water to let the float. As the bowls float away all of the bad luck is supposed to disappear for the Buddhist. The traditional festival was meant to pay homage to the holy foot print of the Buddha on the beach of the Namada River in India
- Elephant Festival-
The Buddha used the wild Elephant that is harnessed to a tame on to train to teach that a person new to the religon, Buddhism would be helped by an older Buddhist.

What is Buddhism?

Buddhism is a religion that is practiced the most in Theravada, Mahayana, Vajrayan, and has about 360 million followers. Buddhism was Founded by Siddharta Gautama when he was meditating under a tree.
Siddharta Gautama started to preach his beliefs and then he was later named Buddha, which means Enlightened One or Awake One.